Happy Tails – Mikey and Rocky (formerly Max)

We had two new Happy Tails sent in!  If you have adopted a furry, feathered, or scaled friend from AACCC we’d love to share your Happy Tail too!  Email a photo (or two) and a short update to taylorbd@muni.org!

Mikey

From her family:

Adopted from Anchorage Animal Control May 25, 2012.

Mikey, a senior dog, adapted to our senior way of life.  She does not get under our feet, or pull on the leash.  A perfect pet for we two at this time of our lives.

She has a charisma and has been welcomed not only to share our home but has been adopted by our neighbors.  Children like to visit her and the retiree, living across the street, takes pleasure in walking her everyday.

We are fortunate to have found Mikey and thank the people of the shelter for saving our dog.

Rocky (formerly Max)

From his family:

I adopted Rocky (his name was Max when he was in your care) April 13, 2011. When I finally convinced my husband to let me have a dog, since I grew up wanting one and my father hated dogs, we came to AACC to find a dog for us. We took “Max” out and he was shaking and scared, and the volunteer told us he had been abused. I put him back but as I was taking one more look around, he flashed his giant smile at me and it was love at first sight. And we named him Rocky when we learned how many abusive homes he had been through before getting to us.

After a week with us, he came completely out of his shell. He’s the most loving dog I have ever seen. He wakes me up in the morning with kisses, follows me everywhere throughout the day, sits next to me while we watch TV, if I’m crying (no matter where I am) he finds me and gives me kisses until I burst out laughing, he’s always willing to ham it up for any pictures I take of him (and LOVES being in pictures with me), he shares my food, and at the end of the day, falls asleep in my arms. I couldn’t ask for a better dog, or even a better best friend. I love him with all my heart, and you can see in those pictures he loves me back. I can’t even remember what life was like without him. I’ve brought him back to Illinois to meet my family many times and I’m pleased to announce that since meeting Rocky, my Dad has taken back his 100% hatred of all things dog and he’s admitted Rocky is smart, funny, and he can see how much Rocky loves me, and that’s the biggest win for me. Thank you all so much at AACC for bringing him to me. I owe you all everything I have now that Rocky’s in my life.

2 Responses to “Happy Tails – Mikey and Rocky (formerly Max)”


  1. 1 Lynne June 18, 2012 at 10:16 am

    There is nothing better than a happy dog in a happy family.

  2. 2 akdog June 18, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    I am so happy to see Mikey is adored- I fell in love with her while walking dogs as a volunteer. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 821 other followers

Stay in Touch

Follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AnchorageAnimalCareAndControl

Check out our website: www.muni.org/animal

AACCC’s Archives

Post Categories


